How to be a Good Teacher

Hello my bitches and welcome to another sporadic post. I would’ve posted a couple days ago but something pissed me off that day so I’m not gonna write about it as it makes my blood boil. So today I’ll be telling you how to be a good teacher since I’m currently teaching German to some younger students in school from scratch so yeah I’m kinda learning on the job. 

Step 1:The two Fs

No before you get any ideas neither of them are fuck. The two Fs are friendly and firm and if you get these in the right moderation then you’ll be amazing. It’s important to be friendly because people produce their best work whenever they’re relaxed and so if you gave them daggers all the time then they’ll tense up and they’ll they nervous which leads to compromising their performance levels.

However being friendly in teaching does come with a price because they can occasionally take advantage of your kindness and this leads me onto the second F. There’s a massive difference between firm and being straight up strict. Allow me to give you an example. 

Firm:please can we discuss this later and get on with the work because this is for your sake not mine.

Strict:be quiet now otherwise I will make you write lines on why you shouldn’t be talking. 

Do you see the difference? Being strict is threatening them, being firm is reminding them of the ways in which they benefit from the lessons. 

Step 2:make them work before you do

I couldn’t stress the importance of this more because it’s so easy to be wrapped up in teaching that you start to reel off facts about said topic without teaching them it. What I do before I tell them things is I ask them what they think it is and I only tell them if they genuinely don’t know even after having given them a clue. It’s also important to make them work as it keeps them on their toes and makes sure that they’re paying attention to what you’re saying as they wouldn’t want to be picked and get the answer wrong. 

Step 3:encourage mistakes 

This kinda links in with step two in terms of making them work before I do. This is so that they can make a mistake first and then they can learn from it because I learn the most based on what mistakes I’ve made. It’s so important to encourage this because no matter what you will always make a mistake. I like to encourage this because in the words of my dance teacher “the more mistakes you make the more lessons you learn”. I always like to try and get the kids to guess what the answers are and to not be shy in making and correcting the mistake now instead of making it over a length of time. 

Step 4:be positive 

This entails not giving up on them. I personally have only had two lessons and so therefore my patience hasn’t been tried at all. However it’s important you don’t patronise them and treat them as if they’re bad at the subject because I’ve had this before and it’s led me to hating the subject and the teacher even more. They are human beings as well as you, they have feelings and probably would rather be somewhere else but they’re not so treat them correctly and with respect. Sure some of the kids I teach are better at German then the others but this doesn’t mean I should alienate them but rather try to tailor the lessons to certain people’s needs. This doesn’t mean go out of your way to invest all your time in the struggling ones, it perhaps could mean don’t put them so often for example or make sure everyone understands when you ask if they’re any questions and when you ask that then ask it truthfully instead of it as a rhetorical question. 

This is the end of my post and I mainly based the steps on what works best for me but just know that you’ll obviously have different learning styles to me so take thus post with a pinch of salt. Anyway that’s me done for today and I’ll see you later. 

Sav πŸ’ͺ🦁

31 thoughts on “How to be a Good Teacher

  1. I have been waiting for this posttt. Mine is um Step 5: Leave me the hell alone? Whenever I had trouble understanding a problem or concept (especially MATH) my teachers would keep getting frustrated at me, trying to explain over and over. Which resulted in me being really upset. So if you see your student about to cry over algebra maybe dont keep telling them “It’s so simple, why dont you get it?” and just let them think about it themselves for a bit

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been learning the language since year 7 and now I’m in year 12 so like 5 years. I wish i had a German background so badly though πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yeah you’re right. I tried learning French and my native language in school but as you said, I didn’t really learn a lot.
        So you learnt out of school? Anyway I think it’s really cool. I’ve always admired people who were able to learn a language other than hers.
        Which means I admire you πŸ‘΅
        I have no idea why I used the Grand ma emoji😯, anyway, as I’ve already said, I think it’s really cool

        Liked by 1 person

      2. At least you’re good at something, which is totally cool. I read the post on your GCSE results by the way (No. I wasn’t stalking. Just… going throughπŸ˜‰), so don’t try to act like you aren’t good at any other thing.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I would give you the dictionary meaning which is quite extreme, but since I want to appear cool😭, I’ll just say that well, eh… Okay I’m serious the answer just left my mind. Your bad.
        I win though😲. I wasn’t stalking!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. And remember, only nice people get nominated πŸ˜›
        And before I continue rambling, let me just end it here.
        Thanks for letting me use your comment section to say a lot of… Ehh… Something.
        Good night❀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Then you don’t have the correct attitude to learn πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ if you want to learn then you have to be open to mistakes and if you’re pessimistic about things, then your pessimism becomes your reality

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Hiii I really like your blog. This post is really great because I help out at a Rainbow group with little kids on Tuesdays and it’s hard to find the balance between the two Fs because if you’re too friendly and not firm enough they try and sit on your knee or something (which is against the rules) and if you’re too nice they hate you!! So thanks, I’ll keep this post in mind at the next session. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yesssss. Honestly, if every teacher followed these steps, they’d be so awesome and we’d actually enjoy the subject they teach. And keeping favourites is just such a huge NO NO. Fine, you can like some kids more than the others but Pls. No unfair advantages. Ugh.
    You’re probably a fantabulous teacher.You’re a Sav-er!!!!!!!. Uhm… Soz bye now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Teachers obviously have Favourites and they always will do. The same way we would have favourite teachers we simply cannot control having favourites. However what we can control is whether we give the favourites a clear advantage. And yeah I’m a great teacher

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay! XD I love this post!! It’s so cool that you’re teaching german!
    And your tips are just SO RIGHT!! In my school, everyone seems to not understand the difference between firm and strict. And what you said about students taking advantage of your kindness is just SO TRUE!! It gives me some sorta uncomfortable feeling when students respond to teachers’ rhetorical questions like: Would you please shut up?!!
    I love this post!! XD Good luck teaching!! XD

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem!! XD And hey, that’s so cool, I’ve always wanted teachers to do that and the only time it nearly happened was when my teacher crush said he would give us something if we answered a question right, I was the only one who knew so I answered. He said correct!! He didn’t give me anything in the end. 😦 LOL XD XD
        I bet you’re an awesome teacher!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

