Why I’m NOT Going to Prom

Whaddup Lions and as you may know it’s prom season so that means that just about everyone is doing promming which is stressing out about dresses, suits and stuff. Anyway I didn’t indulge in said promming and I’ll tell you why.

I don’t know the true underlying reason behind my absence maybe I’ll figure it out by the end of writing this post. Maybe it’s fear who knows. Anyway I’m gonna start with the fact that I’m coming back in sixth form as are most people so it’s not much of a goodbye to people.

You could say that “I’ll see my friends and have a fun night with them” yeah we’ve been over this I have literally no friends in school, what I mean by this is true friends. For example they’re people who don’t bully me or have bullied me but as soon as another one of their friends come near during a conversation I’m automatically tossed to the side like an unwanted Christmas present so obviously I’m not an actual friend if I’m gonna be treated like that am I? I’ve been given a hard time by the vast majority of the people that will be there so why should I voluntarily spend money on a ticket, suit etc. Just to be in a room with my former bullies it makes no sense at all. If the cereal squad however were going then sure I’d definitely go because it’d be a good time with people that actually make me feel like a valued member of society and not a safety net that’s only there when nobody’s with them. Honestly guys am I that bad a person that nobody fucks with me? Am I that easy to take advantage of?

There’s also the “you’ll regret it speech” but I’m gonna debunk that by saying I’m only marginally regretting not going to prom because I’ve read other posts talking about how fun it is with their friends and the time THEY had. So obviously I feel happy for them because they had a good time but slightly regretful that I’m gonna miss out. However they’ve had their own stories in school and I’ve had mine and my school experience has been horrible and that’s a compliment to the word horrible. My rational side says that you’re not them so this makes me want to hear their experiences rather than feel sour about prom as an idea and spare myself of the heartbreak I know will go down.

There’s also the mental health side of things. I have social anxiety and I’m still the same person who struggles with it heavily and gets panic attacks. Sure I haven’t had a panic attack in a long time but that’s because of my self-preservation instinct which is to run away from the problem. I’m scared not gonna lie that my anxiety will get the better of me and I won’t be able to control it so that’s the reason why I guessed fear as a reason. I’m also not a party person, I can’t stand rooms with lots of people in. Even when I pass just ANYONE in the street I feel uneasy and slightly anxious so yeah I have bad anxiety and I don’t want to waste any money unnecessarily when all I’m gonna do is feel anxious. It’s tough living with anxiety I wish people got that.

What else…ummm just quickly I hate suits because they’re uncomfortable and I look like shit in them but that’s a really small reason because I’m gonna have to put up with it in the future anyway. I feel as if I’ve wasted away my teenage years in a way and that has lead to me practically living like a hermit instead of making friends however I know full well that the people I come across in school do nothing but bring negativity and I believe in going to places where my peace is protected.

Anyway that’s all for now and I’ll see you later with another post.
Question of the day: Do you understand my point or am I just crazy?

The Lonely Lion
TWITTER INSTAGRAM

86 thoughts on “Why I’m NOT Going to Prom

  1. I see where you’re coming from πŸ™‚ I’m not a party person either and I get anxious in social situations but I went to prom last year and just kind of stood around with friends and it was alright but honestly not great because I just felt uncomfortable the whole time. So basically, I think if you’re that kind of person then you shouldn’t feel like you have to go – if you’d rather sit at home and watch TV or play a game and eat lots of food you do that, because tbh I would rather do that too. And there’s nothing wrong with being that way πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I see where you’re coming from πŸ™‚ I’m not a party person either and I get anxious in social situations but I went to prom last year and just kind of stood around with friends and it was alright but honestly not great because I just felt uncomfortable the whole time. So basically, I think if you’re that kind of person then you shouldn’t feel like you have to go – if you’d rather sit at home and watch TV or play a game and eat lots of food you do that, because tbh I would rather do that too and there’s nothing wrong with being that way πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally understand, I always thought that prom would be much more fun than it was, and for me it wasn’t all that great because of the people I went with. I didn’t have a date, my friends weren’t really my “friends” I spent the majority of it alone and even left early. So i definitely understand your point. Why spend all the money if it’s not going to be much fun?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh. Well it always makes me laugh out loud as I remember how mortified that trend made me become

        Like

      2. YOU KNOW!!! I won’t go into it because there could be innocent kids reading and we don’t want to corrupt their minds do we?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well my advice for blogging is never force yourself to write a post because then it won’t turn out good because you’re not in creative mode. Ideas are meant to come natural and not by force

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Bro, you ain’t alone! Going somewhere and pay money to be surrounded by nasty people and not even have a good time? That’s why I don’t like going to birthday parties. Also, I’m not going to prom cause we don’t have that in my school but I wouldn’t go either. Also I don’t like prom dresses, I honestly prefer a suit but having people asking me why I’m wearing a suit would make me feel like…meh, not going. I’m glad someone understands how I feel about these things. Great post! XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much nice to see I’m not alone. You remind me of a Superwoman with the vibe you give off in comments and in your posts. I can’t explain it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. there is no point in going to prom if you know you wont enjoy it! I didnt go to my prom and honestly I couldnt care less, I don’t regret not going at all! You can do your own thing whilst everyones promming and Im sure youll still have a nice evening doing what you wanna do! Save your money for something better πŸ˜‹

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I get it a whole lot more now. Now I know your reasonings, I can totally get why you wouldn’t want to go. You can have fun without Prom – much more fun than you would if you went. Thanks for posting this πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for understanding. I mainly wrote this post to act as the comment I did on your post. But I spread it out more so that you could get a feel for it. So i basically just wrote a post for you that must make you feel special

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It VERY much does, I’m a special snowflake Elm tree πŸ˜€ No but seriously, I loved this because it gives more of an idea into you, which is so great

        Liked by 1 person

  7. i actually understand you! I don’t like going to parties as well, (except if it were a family party or by myself and with my pillow, then yes, I will attend that) since there’s nothing to do, and I have no friends as well (exCEPT FOR MY PILLOW) ;(
    augh, social anxiety is the worst thing anyone can suffer from, my mom haves it, I’m sorry to hear that you suffered from a few panic attacks, hopefully you will control it though!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, no, it’s your life and your choice. No one should think it’s their right to criticise you for it, you have your reasons and even if you didn’t as long as you’re happy what does it matter? You’re welcome πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I understand. If it doesn’t make you happy, you shouldn’t do it – that’s my sisterly advise 😊 btw, I really feel like punching the people at your school in the face cause they frankly sound like jerks

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Nope, It’s never been done here, I really don’t know why. We rarely have huge graduations ceremonies either, although we’re starting to now because of other countries’ influence.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Por favor don’t give into these stupid celebrations. In England they organise limos when you’re leaving elementary school. Spain really should keep going as it was before

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Nah, we don’t go that far. My old school just invites parents to the school auditorium to watch kids get their diploma, and sometimes some of us alumni will go and give a speech or stuff like that, but that’s it

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Because it’s too much money for unnecessary things. I’m ok with a prom for leaving school but when they hire helicopters and stuff that’s when it gets annoying and people do stuff like that because they want to be really popular and admired and stuff

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I can completely relate to why you aren’t going to prom/haven’t gone, (I don’t know whether it’s been or not maybe you mentioned it) Anyways, I did go to Prom because I knew that if I didn’t I’d probably end up regretting it because that’s just the type of person I am (I’m not saying that’s how you are at all). So yeah I have complete anxiety on doing pretty much anything but I push myself to do it because if I didn’t there’d be no point me getting out of bed. I have a college taster day for these next two days and I’m shitting it, I have no one I know that’s going and I’ll be with complete strangers, but I’m forcing myself to go because I know it’ll make me more confident when I go in September. And finally it’s probably not worth me linking my prom post because you didn’t go or aren’t interested or whatever but I will still do a bit of self promoπŸ˜‚ https://sophiesamantha.wordpress.com/2016/07/03/ootd-7-prom/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nothing wrong with some shameless self promo. I understand where you’re coming from because I sometimes regret these things too. Good luck for your taster day. And a word of advice: everyone there is probably thinking the same stuff as you are so be positive and just be yourself and don’t force anything.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Yes, I completely understand your point. I myself did not attend my prom 3 years ago. Unlike you, I don’t have reasons that could serve as an answer of why this was, I simply did not want to and I don’t regret not going to it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly, a couple of my friends did go and enjoyed it, but most of them didn’t go either. Instead we went to the beach and had a sleepover at a friend’s house. Whenever we talk about it we still semm to not regret it. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

