Slut Shaming

image

Whaddup Lions and welcome to a post on a rather juicy topic: Slut shaming. This is a topic that I want to address since I have opinions on this and what’s a post on The Savage Savannah if it’s not gonna be a little controversial.

The idea for this post came to mind when I saw Taylor Swift with Tom Hiddleston aka Loki. This grabbed my attention because of the pace in which she moved on from her ex Calvin Harris. This was frowned upon and I automatically saw so many tweets which Slut shamed her. However if you cast your minds back to when Tyga and Kylie Jenner broke up and Tyga moved onto a new girl within days and guess what? Nobody said anything. Quelle surprise media. Now I don’t condone what either of them did because for me it’s disrespectful to the ex to move on so quickly. I’m not Slut shaming Taylor at all, I’m just saying that both what Tyga and Taylor did was wrong and they shouldn’t have moved on at the pace they did and make it public in the way they did.

However their stories aren’t my point of writing this post. My purpose for this is to stand up for women’s rights and promote gender equality. I’m sure it’s fair to suggest that fundamentally Women are treated as Sluts when they do sexual things and Men are treated as idols when they do sexual things so both genders are the focus for me. To support this point, see how many words you can think of that are derogatory to women especially synonyms for Slut. Ok now compare that to words that mean a man of “loose morals”. In my opinion girls get called Sluts, Whores, Hoes, Bitches and many more; on the other hand the worst insult to a guy is fuckboy and I can’t think of any alternative words for that so this clearly shows some form of bias right?

People say we live in a generation where everyone is so accepting, open minded and lots of pro humanity things. However that’s not exactly right because if we lived in an accepting, open minded generation then Trump wouldn’t be a serious candidate for president and Britain would still be in the EU. Yeah I went there. Trump and the Brexit are proof that there are still a crap ton of narrow minded individuals, regardless of the media coverage they get. Sure they’re always gonna be narrow minded people in this world there’s billions of us, but if we were really “accepting and open minded” these racist, homophobic, xenophobic ideas wouldn’t get very far. In my opinion we live in a transitional generation where in the grand scheme of things social media is relatively new and we’re some of the first people to use it to the extent that we use it at. Therefore we’re pioneers in a way that we’re basically teaching future generations what to and what not to do online. Therefore we’re bound to do bad things sometimes like we don’t understand what we’re physically able to do. Anyone can use social media if given the resources to do so; thus this is completely new power to us and we don’t really know what to do with it.

Anyway back onto Slut shaming. This is the part of the post where I tell you what to do and hope that you’ll put this into practice even if you probably hate me. But just be mindful of both genders is my advice like for me the only difference between male and female is body structure. So why should a woman be condemned when a man does the same stuff. If you ever see any type of Slut shaming going down then please step in and stop it. I can talk until I’m blue in the face but I would be wasting my time if I never try to put this into practice. It’s time to really change things as Slut shaming and any type of gender inequality is wrong. I’m not saying treat men like crap because that’ll bring us back to where we started. I’m saying that men and women are equal no matter what and nobody deserves to feel alienated just because of their body structure. Never believe that feminism is strictly for females or promoting men’s rights is for men. See the contrast because there’s a word for standing up for women’s rights but there’s no word for standing up for men’s rights because men’s rights has never really been an issue apart from intense feminists but that’s another post.

That’s the end of my opinionated post and let me know if you agree with my opinion. This is a message that has to be shared because it applies to a lot of people so please share this as people need to read this. I just want to end with telling all you guys that I appreciate each and every one of you that reads my blog, likes and comments because every time I see a like, comment or a follow I’m filled with happiness. Not because of the stats and numbers but because of the feeling of my hard work paying off. Anyways I’ll see you guys later and stay true to yourselves. You’re not alone.
Oh I forgot question of the day: Have you ever been discriminated against because of your gender?

The Lonely Lion
TWITTER INSTAGRAM

57 thoughts on “Slut Shaming

  1. I have been discriminated against based on gender but then I have also been given certain exceptions as well. I’m a girl studying Engineering which is a primarily male-oriented career choice so most of my teachers are… I wouldn’t say lenient but they are more accepting of mistakes girls make rather than boys. Also, I’m always guaranteed a seat in the front row of any class.
    But then you go to the gym and you start having guys come up to you like “Do you need any help with that, sweetheart?” and I cannot stretch without feeling like I’m putting on some sort of strip show.
    “A door that can be opened by many keys is useless, but a key that opens many doors is valuable” or some bull-crap adage like that which basically says “Guys who sleep with many girls are great. But the girls are whores.”
    There’s this post on Tumblr that goes “If guys are meant to have a lot of sex but girls are meant to remain virgins and homosexuality is a sin, then I guess society is telling guys to go f*ck themselves” which I think is beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. As a guy with a fear of gyms I don’t know the struggle I’ll admit that. However you feeling like a stripper when simply stretching is simply due to the sexualization that’s been given to women. I’m so sorry you have to feel like this and you’re an example of why we should change things. Thanks for this comment it really opened my eyes

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have, in the sense that I’m viewed as frail and weak because I’m a girl. I entirely agree with your opinion – yeah, they shouldn’t have moved on so quickly, but WHY was Tyga not called out like Taylor Swift was? Next time I see people doing this I’m putting a stop to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My guess for Tyga was probably because he writes sexually charged lyrics so everyone has grown to expect it. Or it’s because he’s got a dick which is basically a get out of jail free card if this life were monopoly. Remember that you are only as frail as you choose to be. Right now from what I see. You’re one of the strongest bloggers I know and one of my favorites to be honest.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much! I tried to be as strong as possible. Same with you, you always make me laugh and you’re always really helpful πŸ™‚ so thank you for that. And yeah, to be honest, yu get away with a lot of things easier if you’re male like treating women like crap if you’re a celebrity

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I go to an all boys school. In the lunch queue you can literally smell all the testosterone that the “lads” of the year (the ones that lift the heaviest weights and sleep with the most girls) are giving off. So at my school, there’s no discrimination based on gender. BUT if you: are seen crying, struggle to lift the lightest weights at the gym, or considered gay, you will probably be relentlessly bullied. Fucking brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so SO sorry for this. However you’re not at all alone I go to an all guys school as well and I feel you as I can smell their testosterone as well I understand you perfectly. If anyone stands up for women’s rights or women in general we all get condemned and called gay. It’s not like being gay is bad it’s just that you’re associating a group of people who have certain interests negatively if that makes sense. It’s so good to see I’M not alone πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s refreshing to find another guy in pretty much the same position as me πŸ™‚ But to be fair, there are some benefits to going to an all guys school, I know I may sound like I hate it – I exercise way more than I would if I didn’t go the school that I go to (the changing rooms are pretty much the most violent places in the school)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yep that’s fair to suggest. We have a girls school directly across the road from us and it’s so lame how everyone tries to impress them but epically fail

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Our sister school’s a tube stop away so we don’t really have that issue. We have guys trying to impress other guys though (the same ones that gay-shame)

        Like

      4. I know. I’m a quick replier when I have a phone near me and I’m available. That’s cool I was asking because I had to do one also

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I go to a private school – I feel like you have to do tests to get into any private schools (unless you have stacks of money, of course)

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I’ve got another year to worry about that, fortunately. What are the grade requirements at your school and how many people get kicked out?

        Liked by 1 person

      7. 8 Bs from my best 8. I’ve already got one A in stats so good start. I’m not sure how many get kicked out though I’m not too worried about other people’s business

        Liked by 1 person

      8. At my brother’s school they needed like 6 Bs or something and the bottom 20 people or so got kicked out; luckily, I’m very different from my bro. At my school only like 5 people get kicked out max and I need 6 As

        Liked by 1 person

      9. That’s really difficult. In my school some people leave because of grades and some leave because of subjects offered elsewhere, general unhappiness etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. I’m not sure if I’ll stay for sixth form. I’d like to, because of my friends and all that but I feel like some schools may offer so much more and I don’t want to miss out on anything

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Yeah I feel you. I personally don’t want to stay because I hate it there and I’m really unhappy and the school is too academic and I’m more creative

        Liked by 1 person

      12. I’m naturally really academic (I think it’s because I’m Indian and have that doctor gene), and I don’t think that my school’s not academic enough, BUT, I feel like the kids in my school value academics too highly

        Liked by 1 person

      13. It wasn’t like a funny look. She just looked up and gave me a look of wondering what she did wrong to get a son like me. Jk jk, if I wasn’t so narcissistic, I’d be perfect πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      14. Nahhhh fam your mother is straight up blessed to have you. As long as your perfect enough to live with yourself that’s all that matters dude

        Liked by 1 person

      15. Thanks – I appreciate that πŸ™‚ I’m about to go to sleep now but I’ll leave you with a phrase that a Spanish speaker taught me: “Β‘JΓ³dete con un tenedor oxidado, hijo de puta, coΓ±a!” Google with caution πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. No I’m sure yours is great and I’m not saying things for the fun of it. Im fact I’ll read when I’m done replying to you. I’ll be honest I’m really sorry that you’re discriminated against because of your gender because it’s proof that things have to change. Much love to you too

      Like

  4. I agree with you. Slut shaming is such a terrible thing. One of my friends nearly committed suicide because she was being slut shamed… And she was only TWELVE at that time.
    It is terrible, all those words can cause people to do scary things.
    Anyways, I completely agree with you! This is an amazing post. This is amazing.

    Answer to your question: Yes, I wasn’t allowed to play on a local baseball team because I was a girl. I would have been fine with it if they actually let me try out to see what I can do first and if I sucked and they didn’t allow me on the team that would have been okay but instead they just noticed that ‘fe’ became before the ‘male’ and wouldn’t allow me to play.
    I was pissed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow I never knew it extended to people as young as 12 I’m sorry for that. In terms of the baseball team: I’m sorry that had to happen and yours and your friends story is proof that we have to change things. PLEASE stand up for women’s rights no matter what.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Gender as well as race…and by my own family. At school, guys will slut-shame not only for having relationships, but if you deny them then you’re also a slut. Example: Me, at thirteen, a girl who has never been in an actual relationship is called a slut because I pushed a guy’s hand off my thigh.
    It’s ridiculous. How bout people stop telling girls how to act, what to wear, and instead tell boys not to sexually harass anyone..as if it’s that hard.
    Thank you for this post Lion I needed it πŸ’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nah it’s cool. (Not your crappy treatment but for your thank you). But that stuff just isn’t cool at all to the stage where it makes me ashamed of my gender sometimes. I’m sorry you had to suffer this, we need more people actively fighting for women’s rights.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the nomination you have no clue what it means to me. However I’ve already done this post not too long ago so I feel as if it’ll be quite repetitive. I’m really sorry. Maybe I’ll do it another time perhaps

      Liked by 1 person

  6. i agree, slut shaming is horrible and it has to stop. i think one important thing is for girls to not slut shame other girls. we gotta support each other too

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

