Blogging: a Girl or a Guy Thing?

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 17.19.53

Whaddup Lions and this is something I thought I’d talk about today because last night someone mentioned me in a post and they assumed that I was a girl and that really got me thinking whether blogging is a girl thing or a boy thing or both.

I was talking to the person who did the gender mix up and we both agreed that blogging is a female dominated thing. I’m not saying I’m the only male blogger in the world so follow me as I’m one of a kind, I’m simply pointing out what I’ve noticed. I feel like whenever I see a male blogger, their posts are generally more centred towards a business feel or reviews and not much of a journal type blog like my own one is like. So when I got mistaken by accident it kind of struck an internal chord…

I’ve been accused by my family of being more feminine than masculine and then they always use their old fashioned mentality to insinuate the possibility of me potentially being gay just because my hand flops in a certain way while I speak or because I’m conscious about my body and I don’t enjoy the things that all boys enjoy for example physical violence and loud noises. For me this is very unfair because being “gay” simply means being attracted to other men and not defined by behaviour. I’m not saying that being gay is a bad thing I mean that it’s a bad thing to assume someome is gay just because of their behaviour.

Now that I’ve gone off topic I’d like to give you my thoughts on whether blogging has a gender or not: my opinion simply is it’s for both genders. I’m all about gender equality and men doing the same things as women and vice versa. WordPress does have the option of choosing male as a gender so why should it be considered a girl thing. I do think more males should feel ok with sharing their feelings on a blog more because for me it doesn’t happen nearly as much as it should because of the age old traditional man values of being strong and fearless but still I do believe that blogging as well as everything can be done with one gender and simple verbs shouldn’t be given gender definitions.

That’s the end of my contemplation that I wanted to get off my chest. Please let me know if you agree with my views on men blogging and I’ll see you guys next time.

The Lonely Lion

9 thoughts on “Blogging: a Girl or a Guy Thing?

  1. I totally agree with you. I don’t understand why we always have to separate between male and female stuff. When I was younger I got bullied because I am not the typical girl and because they couldn’t deal with that. I think everyone should be free to choose what they want to do.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah me too. It’s sad how we believe that we should act according to our gender. The only difference between boy and girl is the body structure. That’s all

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I don’t think it’s one or the other both genders do it. In fact I have about an equal amount of male and female bloggers I follow. I find it funny though because when I talk about someone’s blog I always use masculine pronouns no idea why. Then I stop myself and say well….I don’t know if they are a male or not.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Really. Wow I was mainly talking from my own and another person’s experience but it’s so awesome that other people experience differently because most of people that follow me and I follow back are female

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

